Tuesday, April 14, 2015

LSTA Advisory Committee Sets 2016 LSTA Program Direction

The Library Services & Technology Act (LSTA) Advisory Committee advises the State Superintendent of Public Instruction on matters pertaining to the administration of the LSTA program.  The duties includes the development of the long-range plan for LSTA; establishment of the annual grant criteria, priorities, and categories; grant applications and grant awards; and evaluation of the LSTA grant program.

The three-year terms expired in December 2014 for Mary Driscoll, Dane County Library Service; Gerri Moeller, Outagamie Waupaca Library System; Krista Ross, Southwest Library System; Cherilyn Stewart, Manitowoc Public Library, and Linda Stobbe, Northern Waters Library Service. Committee members continuing until the end of 2015 are: Jennifer Einwalter, Hartland Public Library; Gus Falkenberg, Indianhead Federated Library System; Eric Norton, McMillan Memorial Library in Wisconsin Rapids, and Marla Sepnafski, Wisconsin Valley Library Service. Members whose terms end in 2016 are: Stacy Fisher, Waunakee High School; Erin Foley, Adams County Public Library; Nyama Marsh, Whitefish Bay Public Library; and Kristin Stoeger, Brown County Library. New members joining the committee with terms ending in 2017 are: Rachel Arndt, Milwaukee Public Library; Amanda Hegge, Whitehall Public Library; Omar Poler, UW Madison School of Library and Information Studies; and Cherie Sanderson, Boulder Junction Public Library.

Each year the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction’s (DPI) Division for Libraries and Technology (DLT) establishes a preliminary budget for the following year based on numerous factors, one of which is anticipated allocation to the state from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS). During the recent LSTA Advisory Committee meeting, preliminary grant proposals and projected amounts were made in four categories and will be described in detail in the 2016 LSTA Information and Guidelines to be released in June 2015, prior to the 2016 LSTA Grant application announcement.

The four major groupings include: DPI positions and support, Federal grant sub-awards to localities, Statewide products or service, and DPI-managed projects. The four major categories were developed for greater clarity as well as for anticipated changes in the state reporting system. IMLS is seeking to present a clearer comparable description of state programs to legislators about services that libraries provide and the impact that these services have made in their communities.

Included in the recommended categories by the LSTA Advisory Committee for competitive grant Sub-Awards requiring grant applications by public libraries and public library systems are: Serving Special Populations: Accessibility and Literacy projects; Digital Creation Technology, and Digitization of Library Historical Materials. Non-competitive grant sub-award categories include: Delivery, Library System Technology, Merging integrated library systems (ILS), and Public library system mergers.

Statewide product or service recommendations were approved for the Learning Express database license, further study of the School Library e-book partnership, and
Image of the National Archives in Washington D.C.
Image of the National Archives in Washington D.C. 
courtesy of Pixabay.
support for a Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) service hub in Wisconsin. The committee also approved the following DPI-managed projects: New library director orientation (conducted biannually), Youth and Special Services continuing education projects, Coding, and Public Library System revision project.

Written by:
Terrie Howe, Public Library Development Team