Monday, October 5, 2015

Meet the 2015 Youth Services Development Institute Graduates!

Participants and presenters at the 2015 Youth Services Development Institute
Participants and presenters at the 2015 Youth Services Development Institute
Last month, 25 library staff serving youth gathered in Green Lake for the second Wisconsin Youth Services Development Institute. The Institute provides professional development and networking for librarians who serve babies, children, and teens in smaller public libraries. The Institute targets librarians who have no graduate degree in librarianship and/or work in rural library communities. For these librarians, there is a need to improve skill and knowledge base, foster a supportive network (in person and online), and develop stronger peer-to-peer and professional community connections within the Wisconsin public libraries infrastructure.

Over the course of three and a half days, Institute participants experienced foundational training related to youth services, including programming, advocacy, and collection development. In addition, emphasis was placed on developing technology and leadership skills. Institute was limited to 25 participants in order to facilitate an effective, intimate, and focused Institute experience. Face-to-face interaction in a small group setting is considered an important element of the Institute and the basis for future networking and professional participation, online and in-person.

In addition to the in-person experience, participants will communicate regularly with the cohort and presenters via email and a private Google+ community in the year ahead as they work on personal goals and professional development.

The Institute was facilitated by Tessa Michaelson Schmidt, DPI’s public library youth and special services consultant. Lead presenters included Sue Abrahamson (Waupaca Area Public Library), Leah Langby (Indianhead Federated Library System), and Marge Loch-Wouters (recently retired from La Crosse Public Library). Additional presenters included Shawn Brommer (South Central Library System) and Merri Lindgren and Megan Schliesman (Cooperative Children’s Book Center).

By their declaration and ours, the following 25 individuals graduated from the Institute and are REAL children’s librarians:

Kim Dearth, Wonewoc Public Library
Shannon Murphy-Tollefsrud, Hedberg Public Library (Janesville)
Shannon Schuren, Sheboygan Falls Memorial Library
Vicki Markham, Oostburg Public Library
Jenna Gilles-Turner, Fall Creek Public Library
Valerie Spooner, Rusk County Community Library
Corinne Nordigian, Community Library (Kenosha)
Emily Sanders, Barrett Memorial Library (Williams Bay)
Rebecca Barry, Chilton Public Library
Kay Kromm, Reeseville Public Library
Kymberley Pelky, Oneida Community Library
Jill Trochta, Suring Area Public Library
Teresa Weber, Bayfield Carnegie Public Library
Patricia Lamon, Walter E. Olson Memorial Library (Eagle River)
Stacy Mueller, New London Public Library
Jan Rademacher, Waupaca Area Public Library
Stephanie Klopotek, Adams County Public Library
Brenda Francis, Spring Green Community Library
Mary Sue Divine, Allen-Dietzman Public Library (Livingston)
Chris Sturdevant, Waukesha Public Library
Jess Reed, Bekkum Memorial Public Library (Westby)
Amanda O'Neal, Winneconne Public Library
Linda DeCramer, Ripon Public Library
Denise Chojnacki, Rhinelander District Library
Jessica Rohlffs, Town Hall Library (North Lake)

Congratulations!  We are ready for you to set the library world on fire!

Written by:
Tessa Michaelson Schmidt, Public Library Development Team